My cup runneth over…

Well actually it doesn’t, and that’s a good thing in this instance. I’ve become a part of the menstrual cup cult and I love it. It’s a whole new experience but it’s nice. 

I don’t have to worry about whether I have enough tampons with me or in the cabinet anymore. I can go a much longer time without having to empty it. I can see just how much I’m bleeding (which seems like it’s way less than it was). It’s a little more effort than tampons and pads but the benefits outweigh that extra effort you put in. I’m definitely sold. 

Of course, I haven’t had to use it at someone else’s house or change it out in public yet but I think I’ll be ok. At least this way there’s no rattly papers or trash left behind. I’m so self conscious about that sort of thing. Now no one knows but me 😊. 

I was really hesitant about it at first. I really thought it was kind of gross. Then I read a thread in a women’s fitness group I’m in and all those women loved their cup. They all said there’s a learning curve (you’ll see that phrase a lot when you’re researching cups) and there is, but in the end they loved them. It convinced me and I placed my order right then. Now I’m a convert. 

I still have some of my old habits. I want to change it out frequently like I did tampons, for fear of leaking or it being full but it never does and it never is. I just have to get used to it. 

I guess it’s just a new journey I have to ease into. I’m loving it so far though. What about any of my vagina having readers? Are any of you cup users? Have you considered it? What do you think of the idea? I’d like to hear what you guys think! 

2 thoughts on “My cup runneth over…

  1. I’ve heard a lot about cups and I kind of want to give it a go, but all the stories about the ‘learning curve’ really put me off. It’s stressful enough as it is without having to deal with something brand new like that.

    Like

    1. The learning curve thing is more about getting them to open, positioning them properly so they don’t leak, knowing which kind to get (your cervix can prevent you from wearing some), and that it will suction to you (sometimes. Mine doesn’t sometimes) and it can be painful if you remove it without breaking that. Just little things like that, things you didn’t need to know about tampons. Once you figure out how they work for you, because since vaginas are so different they work differently for everyone and it’s not a one size fits all experience, it’s really pretty easy. I got mine 2 for $15 on Amazon so it wasn’t a huge investment and if I didn’t like it I could just put it away and give up. Maybe you could try something like that?

      Like

Leave a Reply

